All In The Numbers

All In The Numbers

Seven years ago, I worked in a church nursery.  It seemed like the perfect fit as I had just stopped nursing my oldest, and I enjoyed working with children. Imagine my surprise when my husband and I found out we were expecting our second child! Of course, in our enthusiasm, we shared the news with family and friends.

The reception was warm until I shared the same news with the folks at the church. Go figure, the one place I would not expect it is where I got the coldest response.

I cannot recall the wording, but even now I remember the disappointment.  It made working there impossible, and with a heavy heart, I left after only having started there a month before.

I wonder, even now, what prompted such a response? I may never know.

8d02467424619dbb8ffaa14efbcd1672

Family Tree

God is a Creator, a master of life. So, it should come as no surprise that the enemy would seek to destroy that.

John 10:10New International Version (NIV)

10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

Let’s revisit the Garden of Eden for a moment.

Adam and Eve were promised life, by God. They had but one rule to follow. When Satan convinced Eve to eat of the forbidden fruit, it cost them paradise. More importantly, it cost them their lives. For the minute their lips touched that fruit, they sealed their fates. They would know death.

This would be the first time Satan used his deceptive methods to rob mankind of life, but it would not be the last.

For as Adam and Eve bore children, the great deceiver turned his sights on them.

What I would give to know the whispers he put in Cain’s ear to prompt him to kill Abel…

It must have been something pretty convincing as Cain slew his own brother over damaged pride.

It’s Up To Us To Determine Our Family Size

Psalm 127:3-5

Children are a heritage from the LORD, offspring a reward from him. Like arrows in the hands of a warrior are children born in one’s youth. Blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them. They will not be put to shame when they contend with their opponents in court.

Satan does not encourage childbearing. Every child born is another opportunity to thwart him in their reception of God’s grace.  That is why pardon the pun, he is so Hell-bent on their destruction.

How Does The Destroyer Seek To Get Rid of Children?

Wait for it…

  • Abortion
  • Infanticide
  • Homosexuality

A lie women fall prey to and that the men who love them have grown to support them in their belief of is: A woman has the right to determine when she will and how many children she will have.

Please, do not misunderstand and think that I hate my feminist sisters or my brothers who love and support them. Nor is this a cry to condemn any of my sisters who may have had, or considered an abortion.

I can no more hate them, than the Lord who breathed life into my sinful existence.  Just as I cannot argue against scripture.

A number of Christians compromise their faith by accepting practices of contraception, family planning, and sterilization.

Why?

Perhaps it is fear, maybe self-ambition. Some commonly shared thoughts or beliefs that lead to these practices are:

  • We/I barely make ends meet, how will we/I provide for a child?
  • If we/I have a child/more children, we/I won’t have enough time for…
  • If I/We have a child/more children, we/I can’t…

The sad and simple truth is, the world says “Children are a burden.”  Whereas God’s Word says “Children are a blessing.”

The world also says “The purpose of marriage is to find happiness.” Whereas God’s Word teaches us that one of the vital purposes of marriage is to raise God fearing children.

Malachi 2:15 New International Version

Has not the one God made you? You belong to him in body and spirit. And what does the one God seek? Godly offspring. So be on your guard, and do not be unfaithful to the wife of your youth.

Of course, not all women are called to marry and have children. Nor is a woman’s salvation determined by her ability to have children.

It is in a woman’s willingness to embrace, instead of shunning, her God-given role that is a necessary fruit that will accompany genuine salvation. For it is proof that she belongs to God and follows His ways.

A Christ Like Example

One of the most beautiful illustrations we have of this is Mary of Nazareth. The timing in her case could not have been more poorly planned. Unmarried, young, a virgin, and betrothed her pregnancy could not have come at a more dangerous time for her.

In fact, it wouldn’t have been unnatural for her to harbor some of these doubts and questions:

  • “I’m too young! I’m not ready to have a child!”
  • “What will everyone say? No one will understand.”
  • “We cannot afford a child.”
  • “I won’t be able to spend time with my Joseph or my friends.”

Yet, there is no indication of any hesitation on Mary’s part.

Luke 1:26-38 NIV (New International Version)

The Birth of Jesus Foretold

26 In the sixth month of Elizabeth’s pregnancy, God sent the angel Gabriel to Nazareth, a town in Galilee, 27 to a virgin pledged to be married to a man named Joseph, a descendant of David. The virgin’s name was Mary. 28 The angel went to her and said, “Greetings, you who are highly favored! The Lord is with you.”

29 Mary was greatly troubled at his words and wondered what kind of greeting this might be. 30 But the angel said to her, “Do not be afraid,Mary; you have found favor with God. 31 You will conceive and give birth to a son, and you are to call him Jesus. 32 He will be great and will be called the Son of the Most High. The Lord God will give him the throne of his father David, 33 and he will reign over Jacob’s descendants forever; his kingdom will never end.”

34 “How will this be,” Mary asked the angel, “since I am a virgin?”

35 The angel answered, “The Holy Spirit will come on you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you. So the holy one to be born will be called[b] the Son of God. 36 Even Elizabeth your relative is going to have a child in her old age, and she who was said to be unable to conceive is in her sixth month. 37 For no word from God will ever fail.”

38 “I am the Lord’s servant,” Mary answered. “May your word to me be fulfilled.” Then the angel left her.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

