Raisin’ Em’ Right

Raisin’ Em’ Right

Something a number of mothers and fathers worry about, and often ask themselves is: Am I raisin’ em’ right?

When we ground them for lying, or send them to their rooms for talking back to earn their anger the first question we ask: Am I raisin’ em’ right?

When we show disappointment when their grades slip or behave inappropriately, the first thing we wonder about is: Am I raisin’ em’ right?

One of the most common and lingering doubts Satan plants in our minds as parents are in the way we choose to bring our little ones up.

God, our Heavenly Father, never intended for us to know evil by experiencing it. Nor does He want us to suffer, hurt, or know any kind of torment.  Just as we want to love, nurture, and protect our children, God wants only what is best for us.

The “Real” World 

We should not worry about raising our children to fit in or to merely survive.

The challenge of any God fearing parent lays in their ability to bring up children who love God with every fiber of their beings, who want to have a relationship with him, and will act as lights unto the world.

What we should want as parents are children who embrace what is both true and right.

Lies The World Tells Our Children:

  • Obedience is naive
  • Belief is subjective
  • Nothing is absolute
  • Look out for yourself first
  • Tolerance means agreement
  • Do whatever feels good
  • It’s only a little white lie
  • Love never lasts
  • Follow your heart

I remember growing up in a household where if my daddy didn’t like what you were wearing, you had to change. I also remember that it was a set rule that none of us girls were allowed to wear makeup or date until we turned sixteen.

The rules, I don’t think bothered me much. Though I bet there were times I asked myself why they were there.

Now that I look back, I can see some valuable lessons coming from them. While I might put on makeup occasionally for date night with the hubby, I realize perhaps that in my parent’s own way, they were trying to tell me I was alright without it and that I didn’t have to be all dolled up to have value.

I also recall that, back then, I wasn’t allowed to talk to my mom or dad a certain way.

You know? You couldn’t talk back, yell, scream, curse, or insult.

Whereas today you see it everywhere. Kids wearing what they want, doing as they please, and even talking to their parents in such a way you find yourself blushing as you walk down the aisle at the supermarket.

God’s Word On Raisin’ Em’ Right

The truth is, our children will reflect what we believe, show, and tolerate in our own homes. That is why it is so important that we consider not only what we do and say, but what we let in, and what we don’t invite into our homes.

We are to not let ourselves become part a worldly mold and not be defined by culture, popularity, status, etc. But we are to let ourselves reflect our love for God, and His love for us.

Romans 12:2 New International Version (NIV)

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

 

Psalm 92:12-15 New International Version (NIV)

12 The righteous will flourish like a palm tree,
    they will grow like a cedar of Lebanon;
13 planted in the house of the Lord,
    they will flourish in the courts of our God.
14 They will still bear fruit in old age,
    they will stay fresh and green,
15 proclaiming, “The Lord is upright;
    he is my Rock, and there is no wickedness in him.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

